Scholarships & Awards

The Magill Scholarship established in 2012 by Dr. Dennis Magill (class of 1961).  To be awarded to a full-time student entering his or her final year of study in sociology or political science, who has demonstrated excellent academic performance.  Preference for students demonstrating financial need.  Value: $1,000  Selections made by the Scholarship Committee from recommendations received by the departments.

The Daniel S. Bezanson Scholarship of $720 endowed by Miss Anne Bezanson of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in memory of her brother, the late Mr. Daniel S. Bezanson, is to be awarded annually to a student entering the fourth year with a major in economics, sociology, history or political science. Selection is made by the Scholarship Committee from recommendations received from the departments concerned and is based on scholarship and need.

The Thomas Dadson Memorial Scholarship. An annual award of $200 in memory of Dr. Thomas Dadson, Mark Curry Professor of History at Acadia University, 1929-1950, endowed by an old friend, is awarded at the end of the second year to a student of distinction proceeding to a major in history or political science.

The Margaret L. Ford Scholarships in English (4), History (4), Political Science (4), French (4) and German (4) of $525 each were endowed by the late Ms. Ford (B.A. Acadia, 1922; M.A. Toronto, 1930) who was born in Wolfville and was a distinguished teacher in schools in New Jersey, Massachusetts and Ontario. They are awarded annually to the top students in years one, two, three and four in English, history, political science, French and German.

The Duncan Grant Lovat Fraser Scholarship in Political Science was established in honour of D.G.L. Fraser (B.A., M.A. Acadia, '48, '49; C.D.), former Head and long time member of the Department of Political Science, by his friends, colleagues and former students. The award is made annually to the top student entering year three in the political science program.

The Ralph M. Hunt Prize in Political Science. A prize of $40 is provided by the will of the late Reverend Ralph M. Hunt to be awarded to a student of the third or fourth year in political science. The award is to be granted for the best essay on some subject in political science as determined by the Department of Political Science in consultation with the Dean of Arts.

The Parsons Family Prize. An endowment donated by W. R. Parsons (Acadia, 1895) and Mrs. F. I. Stearns in memory of their father, Mr. Jonathan Parsons, B.A., their sister Mabel H. Parsons, M.A., and their brother George H. Parsons, B.A., LL.B., provides a prize of $40 to go to the male student with the highest standing who proceeds to the study of law.

The Royal Canadian Regiment Milton F. Gregg VC Bursary is provided by the Royal Canadian Regiment Association in memory of the late Brigadier, the Honourable M.F. Gregg, VC, PC, OC, CBE, MC, ED, MA, DCL, LL.D., D.Sc. Mil., a Canadian war hero and diplomat, federal cabinet minister and university president. A native of Mountain Dale, New Brunswick, Dr. Gregg received honourary degrees from Acadia in 1921 and 1944. The funding is available to undergraduate students studying environmental subjects or international affairs.

For more information, please visit the Acadia Scholarships and Financial Assistance website: